No icon

West Bengal Assembly Election updates

Trinamool suffered another blow on Monday 5 Trinamool MLAs join BJP

The ruling Trinamool Congress suffered another setback on Monday in the wake of the West Bengal Assembly elections, with five sitting Trinamool Congress MLAs quitting the party and joining the BJP.

Sonali Guha and Rabindranath Bhattacharya, close associates of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and four-time MLA, have joined the BJP after being rejected by the Trinamool Congress. Similarly, four-time MLA Jatu Lahiri and former footballer Dipendu Vishwas have also joined the BJP after the Trinamool Congress rejected their candidature. Similarly, Trinamool Congress MLA Sheetal Sardar has also joined the BJP.

Meanwhile, 22 members of the Malda Zilla Parishad have decided to join the BJP, which has come under the control of the 38-member Zilla Parishad. Bengali actress Tanushree Chakraborty has also joined the BJP.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Monday lashed out at Prime Minister Narendra Modi for spreading rumors against the Trinamool Congress government. In 294 constituencies in the state, voters will see a match like Didi against BJP this time, she added. Not only that, one day the country will be named after Narendra Modi and that day is not far away, she added. Mamata launched the attack after a photograph of Modi was printed on the certificates of Kovid-19. He expressed confidence that he would come to power for the third time in a row in West Bengal.

Comment As:

Comment (0)