No icon

List of 42 reforms prepared by the government for campaigning amidst the peasant movement

In the midst of the ongoing peasant movement in the country, the Narendra Modi government has prepared a list of 42 reforms, including agricultural laws. This list highlights the laws or reforms that have come into existence during the last six years after the NDA came to power and which the Government believes has greatly impacted the country.

This has been done as part of a strategy to deal with the negative publicity about the government on issues like the current farmers' movement and opposition to the Citizenship Amendment Act last year. Even the farmers are protesting against the new agricultural laws and the government has also added the Agricultural Infrastructure Fund (AIF) under the new agricultural laws in its list.

The Agriculture Infrastructure Fund was launched on August 9, 2020. Under this fund, after the harvesting, cheaper loans have to be given for development of infrastructure for its management and for investment in Community Agricultural Assets. This scheme will be applicable for 10 years i.e. from FY 2020 to FY 2029.

Thousands of farmers have been camping on the border of Delhi for more than a month and they are still frozen without any solution. This list of the government talks about the reforms brought between 2014 and 2020. Modi government came to power in May 2014. The second term of this government is going on since 2019.

Regular updates are being sent to the Prime Minister from the Chief Secretary and the Cabinet Secretary and the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) is keeping an eye on it. All the Ministries have been asked to give details of these reforms which are to be publicized and the Ministry of Information Broadcasting has also been kept in the loop.

Article 370 has also been inserted in this list of reforms which gave special rights to Jammu and Kashmir and which was abolished by the Modi government. This has been one of the biggest decisions taken by the government. The BJP also promised in its election manifesto that it would abolish Article 370 giving special rights to Jammu and Kashmir. With the end of Article 370, the state of Jammu and Kashmir was divided into two Union Territories - Ladakh and Jammu and Kashmir which were made Union Territories.

In addition to agricultural laws, Goods and Services Tax (GST), Swachh Bharat Mission, Chief of Defense Staff and Triple Divorce Act have also been included in this list of reforms. In a decision of the Supreme Court in 2017, the triple talaq was declared unconstitutional, after which the Modi government made a law and declared it criminal.

Many other big policy decisions have been placed in the category of these reforms, about which the government is feeling the need of publicity. Programs like Ujala scheme under Ministry of Power, Udaan under Ministry of Civil Aviation, Labor Code under Ministry of Labor, Skill India under Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, National Education Policy under Ministry of Education and Beti Bachao Beti Padhao.

All ministries have been asked to give a 5-page presentation on the reforms related to their departments. There will be a detailed description of what exactly was reformed, who benefited from it, how long the reform remained in discussion and if it is still not implemented, when it can be finalized.

Comment As:

Comment (0)